Burberry Handbag Cake

I had another opportunity to make another handbag cake recently. This time it’s a Burberry handbag cake.  This lead came from a fellow cake decorator who is not into making handbag cakes.  Her wedding planner friend did not specify which model he wanted. So it’s up to me to make. 

I wanted to try handpainting the bag since it was just lines. Made a small cake and found out that the lines were not easy to paint.

I had to simplify the handles knowing that the actual cake will travel from one place to another after I deliver them. Not taking any risk having the handles fall off in transit.

After making this practice cake, I realised that I need to see more details of this bag. The photos on Burberry’s website did not show the details that I wanted. So, off I went to Burberry’s boutique in KLCC to have a closer look.  I had to pretend to be a potential customer for this purpose 🙂 Luckily the Burberry staff was nice enough to allow me to look at the bag and try carrying it. Hey… I actually like the bag 🙂

Well back to my handbag cake. This is the actual one delivered to my friend’s place.

Used edible image for this. I had a tough time getting the handles to stay in place. Thank God, it survived the 30+km ride to my friend’s place last night. I am not sure of the handbag’s journey today. Keeping my fingers crossed that the handles will be stay put while in transit and throughout the wedding ceremony!

8 thoughts on “Burberry Handbag Cake

  1. YM, in love with your handbag cake! 🙂 Can share with me how you do the handles? Did you use edible glue or royal icing or just water to stick it in place?

  2. Gina, I use florist wire in the handle (I think it’s #22 or 20). Use tooth pick and lots of cmc glue to attach the handle.

  3. YM, oh! I was contemplating to use vanguard sheets. My crocodile bag I did, I use aluminium foil to roll into a tube. 🙂 Got inspired after seeing Jo’s handbag cake.

  4. oh sorry. I saw Jo’s post on FB on the article she did with step by step photos on handbag cake. Vanguard sheets are big size poster paper. usually in various shades of colour. and thick. schools here uses alot for doing project work. Sold in every bookshop or Art Friend also has. Very cheap.

Leave a Reply

